1966 Evinrude sportfour 60HP help please guys.

Rollinunknown

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hey guys my name is Rob im in St Louis MO .
I just bought a buddys 1966 MFG Beachcomber and he gave me the Original motor that came on the boat 1966 Evinrude Model#60653R .

Ok this motor is like it came off the show room floor!
I did a compression test all CYL's were 80 PSI on the nose is this normal for this motor ?

My problem is ZERO spark .. Ive tryed everything been reading the forums for awhile and ive seen Joe Reeves post on this a few times ... I did what he still no fire..

What would cause the no spark ? The points are dead on Cap and rotor are clean as can been no burns carbon ect.. Ive spun it by hand looking for a spark on one of the plugs nothing... Can a condenser cause this problem ? Im new to the whole points thing but im sure i got it .. .20 on the top of the cam lobe ect...

Ive checked both sets of points no fire to the plugs on either side... I would love to get this thing humming down the river.
I have all paper work with the motor from 1966 Service' manual and parts booklet.

Thanks ahead of time guys.

Cofe

Lieutenant Commander
Re: 1966 Evinrude sportfour 60HP help please guys.

A bad condenser could be causing this, also could be the kill switch is bad. Disconnect the kill wire, and see if you get fire.

A good trick on points is to run a thin piece of unwaxed cardboard between the points to remove any oil residue. Even the oil from your skin will interfere with points. Old timers used a match book cover folded over for this purpose. Hope you get it going the fish are biting;)

Rollinunknown

Petty Officer 2nd Class

A bad condenser could be causing this, also could be the kill switch is bad. Disconnect the kill wire, and see if you get fire.