Lower unit removal.....when all else fails try something different

bthompson

Seaman Apprentice
I have been trying for many days now to remove my lower unit with absolutely no success.

http://forums.iboats.com/showthread.php?t=384230

I can be patient.. After all, I am a BAND teacher, among other things, but I also don't want to miss the opener, so I decided to try another approach. I grew up on a farm, so sometimes there are solutions out there that are not as "conventional" as you might think.

I took a sawzall with a metal cutting blade and cut through the exhaust housing until I was halfway through the shaft. Then I rotated the shaft and cut the other half so I wouldn't have to go too far into the housing. I know an aircraft mechanic who welds aluminum and my dad is going to get that piece welded for me. It will be almost good as new.

As you can see, I welded on a shaft with a slide hammer. I also have started soaking the spline with PB directly. It is quite stiff, but much easier to work on this way. By the way, I found a shaft for $50, so after I get it off, I still got by cheaper than taking it to a dealer. I could have ended up paying $80 just to have them try and not be able to get it off.

The impeller looks somewhat worn, but the rubber is still malleable. I was really hoping it would be almost shot so I would feel better about all the work I am doing on it. I got the original manual today, so I am all set as soon as I get that shaft off.

Attachments

• 101_0376.jpg
    101_0376.jpg
    140.3 KB · Views: 0
  • 101_0377.jpg
    101_0377.jpg
    138.8 KB · Views: 0
  • 101_0378.jpg
    101_0378.jpg
    135.8 KB · Views: 0
  • 101_0379.jpg
    101_0379.jpg
    126.1 KB · Views: 0

Numlaar

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Lower unit removal.....when all else fails try something different

WOW! That was a rough one indeed!

Make sure you anti-seize the top of the new shaft good so you dont have to go through that one again! Yeesh!

bthompson

Seaman Apprentice