1959 Evinrude 35 hp rough idle, wire question

TregoMark

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Hello all, this is my first post, but I've been lurking and reading for a couple of months. There's a ton of great info on iboats. :)

I'm new to boating and recently bought a project boat that came with a 1960Evinrude 40hp. I started rebuilding that motor when my wife found a 1959 Evinrude 35 hp Golden Jubilee on craigslist ($20). This motor is in much better condition, so I worked on it instead. I rebuilt the carb and fuel pump, replaced plugs, fuel lines, thermostat, impeller, lower seals and gave it a good cleaning. When I fired it up, it ran a little rough. Any suggestions?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jU-Bgm8frmw

My other question is regarding a couple of wires near the base of the throttle lever. I noticed that they were broken off (may have happened while I was cleaning). I can't figure out what they are for and I can't find any mention of them in my Seloc manual. I'm going to re-solder them, but I was wondering what their purpose was.

DSC04075wl.jpg

Here's some other pics of the 1959 Evinrude:

DSC04070wl-1.jpg

DSC04071wl.jpg

DSC04072wl.jpg

DSC04040wl.jpg

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: 1959 Evinrude 35 hp rough idle, wire question

looks like they went to a mercury switch, which kept the motor from starting then the throttle was turned too high.

sounds like it is running on one cylinder. check you spark, also compression. also read coils, carb adjustments in the TOP SECRET FILE.

tootallofwa

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Try synchronizing your Golden Jubilee. Looks to have the same setup as my 62' 28hp Johnson. I just did mine and it sound much better.

With the exception of the coil, starter and generator, ALL wires on these engines are to warn, kill or prevent from cranking under certain circumstances.