1960 Evinrude 18 HP Fastwin

DAVE-L

Recruit
Hello everybody i'm new to iboats!!! but i was wondering if this is a good motor its a 1960 Evinrude 18 HP Fastwin? it is in great condition from the looks of it. i'm new to boating and i got it for my jon boat. i wasnt able to start it when i picked it up becuase it was snowing here and his out side water was frozen. do I need to do any thing when I start it besides make sure it is in water and has fuel? Thanks any info will be helpfull and useful.

Attachments

• Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    128.6 KB · Views: 4
  • Untitled2.jpg
    Untitled2.jpg
    93.9 KB · Views: 3

Fiftyfivefloater

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 1960 Evinrude 18 HP Fastwin

That sure is a mighty fine looking motor! I wish my '55 looked that good. No doubt you have come to the right place. The guys here are very knowledgeable and friendly.

DAVE-L

Recruit

Thanks, yeah it looks good, i hope it runs as good. The guy i got it from said it had about 5hrs of use, it sat in their basement since 1960 then he ran it in 06!!

1946Zephyr

Vice Admiral

Welcome to iBoats DAVE-L:D:D

Very nice motor. I would suggest changing the water pump impeller. Chances are, it's in crumbly shape. Also check the ignition system over and make sure that the coils don't have any cracks in the insulation.

The very first thread in this forum labeled "Top Secret File" is a good read and will give you lots of good tips for "Awakening a Sleeping Outboard" This thread will give you all the steps to check your motor over and give 'er a good tune up.:D:D

DAVE-L

Recruit

Hopefully these are a little bigger than before, that was my first time posting/resizeing pictures.

Attachments

• PAINT1.jpg
    PAINT1.jpg
    129.5 KB · Views: 4
  • PAINT2.jpg
    PAINT2.jpg
    136.5 KB · Views: 4
  • PAINT 3.jpg
    PAINT 3.jpg
    115.7 KB · Views: 5
  • PAINT 4.jpg
    PAINT 4.jpg
    114.5 KB · Views: 4
  • PAINT 5.jpg
    PAINT 5.jpg
    103.1 KB · Views: 3

DAVE-L

Recruit