Old outboard Service in Toronto ??

seawolf

Cadet
:rolleyes:Not sure if this is off topic, or if generally against forum rules, but I am looking for shops and or marinas that service 50's and 60 Johnson, and Evinrude motors in the Greater Toronto Area.

I know this forum is full of great information regarding outboard service, but I was just wondering if anyone knew offhand. I have some experience servicing outboards, but surely some would rather leave these jobs to proffessionals in order to have a proffessional finish.

Thanks in advance

samo_ott

Vice Admiral
Re: Old outboard Service in Toronto ??

I'm in Ottawa and our local OMC dealer states they will not work on anything older than a 1976. They're the biggest/best in town as far as I know (Laurentian) (there's not many OMC dealers up here though). There's not a lot of demand for it anymore and most new techs aren't trained in the old engines. There's not a lot of $$$ in it as most of the time the labour and parts will cost more than the engine.

What are you looking to have done to what engine?

PW2

Commander

Most shops charge $75 to $100 or more per hour for service, and you don't need to spend too much time before you've exceeded the value of the motor.

Collecting a $500 bill for a $200 engine can be a problem that most shops don't want to take on.

TN-25

Chief Petty Officer

One in the GTA that I have visited is Durham Marine Services - All Engines OMC Volvo & Yanmar Dealer. Contact (905) 420-6559
Fax (905) 420-4129 Address : 1080 Brock Rd Pickering, ON , L1W3H3.