'84 Evinrude 25hp stalls out under throttle.

bigolesucker

Cadet
Hello. I have a 2 stroke, 25hp Evinrude outboard. Hadnt run it for a couple years. Got it going but it'll only stay running at about half choke. Even at half choke, it dies when you give more than about 1/3 throttle. Dies altogether at no choke. At this point, I am at a level slightly above retarded when it comes to outboards. Can anyone help?

markntexas81

Cadet
Re: '84 Evinrude 25hp stalls out under throttle.

Sounds like the carb is dirty. I have an '84 35hp evinrude and it does the same thing if i dont run it for a while. I had to take it apart and clean it out. Try that, if thats not it, good luck.

jeremyaab

Cadet

I agree, sounds like carb is varnished, might look to fuel pump too, rebuild kit is pretty cheap.

Willyclay

Captain

Welcome to the iboats.com forum. The experts here can help you solve any problem with a boat, motor and trailer. While I am not an expert, I agree with the previous posters that it sure sounds like fuel starvation. Just work through the list of possibilities. Clogged main jet, bad fuel pump, loose/missing hose clamps allowing air to be sucked-in, bad anti-siphon valve in the fuel hose, closed/damaged fuel tank vent are the usual suspects. Good luck!

bigolesucker

Cadet

Thanks for the prompt replies. I will check the fuel input and tear into the carburetor. Should I go ahead and get a kit to rebuild it or just clean it? Honestly, I need a parts diagram to properly identify stuff. I wasnt kidding about the semi-retarded thing.
Thanks

Willyclay

Captain