1961 75hp Evinrude Starflite III (now with pictures)

Status
Not open for further replies.

blk98gt

Seaman
Wohoo first post. Down to business now...
First off, I have some car motor knowledge but it's all EFI not carb and not marine.
Got a boat with a V4 1961 75hp Evinrude Starflite III. Unknown when the last time it was used but tags on the trailer point to 1991 :eek: After a lot of frustration got the motor to turn over (missing key). Then we got spark. Then we were having a hard time getting the motor to start. It finally started but any bit of throttle (by hand at the carb) kills the motor. We figured fuel starvation? We checked the fuel pump and it seems to pump well.
MAIN QUESTION:
Am I heading in the right direction to rebuild and clean the carb next?

Compression even all around at 90psi +/-1psi.

oldrudedude

Chief Petty Officer
Re: 1961 75hp Evinrude Starflite III

I would say "yes" to the main question. It may not need cleaning but it needs to be checked because fuel starvation on a two stroke can seriously compromise the long term health of the engine.

This is a different animal from the automobile engine. Blipping the butterflies on the carbs is not a good way to increase rpm from idle. Use the throttle cable. The linkage between the throttle cable and carb linkage is the ignition timing linkage. When you push the throttle lever forward the first thing that happens is the timing is advanced. The rpm increases. Push the throttle more and the cam on the timing linkage pushes the little roller on the carb linkage to open the butterflies. Use the lever. If you just flick the butterfly linkage it will not rev well.

If you can wrap your head around that, welcome to outboards.

Also don't run it without water even for a few seconds. It will damage the impeller

lindy46

Captain

Yup, clean/rebuild carb and check for strong spark on all cylinders. Those old coils may need replacing.

Chris1956

Supreme Mariner