Evinrude 15 hp 4 stroke problems

Status
Not open for further replies.

weebojc

Cadet
I have a 15 hp Evinrude 4 stroke that is not wanting to start up. I have used it once this year with no problems at all. It has always been a one or two pull start for me, but now won't turn over. I took apart the gas line that seats between the spark plugs on the motor and the gas came through the fuel pump to that point no problem. I then took the plug out and touched it to the side of the block while I pulled it over and had spark. After squeezing the primer bulb a few times and pulling it over once, I pulled the plugs and found they were dry.

I'm a newbie and really am not sure where to go from here.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated as it seems impossible to find a cutaway diagram for my motor online.

Thanks,

Jamie

bankerjohn

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Evinrude 15 hp 4 stroke problems

You didn't say what year your motor is, but I suspect it probably looks pretty close to my 1996 9.9 4-stroke motor. Look at the picture below ... and remove the plug where the arrow is pointing ... and see if gas comes out, and if it's clean!

Lots of sites have exploded part diagrams ... give us the model # from the transom plate!

Attachments

• Carburetor.jpg
    Carburetor.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 4

weebojc

Cadet

Sorry, it is a 1996. E15FREDR

I pulled the screw out and no gas came out. I even pumped the crap out of my primer bulb.

bankerjohn

Chief Petty Officer

If you pumped the primer bulb with the plug out, and you didn't get any gas pouring out the hole, then there's got to be a blockage between the primer bulb and the carburetor ... or the needle valve in the carburetor is stuck in a closed position, preventing gas from filling the bowl.