'71 60hp Evinrude running backwards, loose wire

Status
Not open for further replies.

newB-08

Recruit
I read somewhere once that the two happiest days of a boat owner's life are the day he buys a boat, and the day he sells it.....

So, I bought my first boat about a month and a half ago, and have yet to put it in the water. It is an old tri-hull with a 1971 60hp evinrude with the selectric control box. My problem is that the engine is actually running backwards. When I turn the key, it cranks, but won't fire until I let go of the key, and then it runs backwards. I've been told that since it's a 2 stroke, it can do this, but no one knows how to fix it.

I don't know if it's related or not, but in the control box, there is a wire that is just kind of hanging. I can not find where it is supposed to be connected. I have been looking for a wiring diagram, but have had no luck. I am an electrician by trade, so I do have a little knowledge in this area, but I still haven't been able to figure it out.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Otherwise I'll have to break down and take it to the boat shop. Thanks.

wilde1j

Vice Admiral
Re: '71 60hp Evinrude running backwards, loose wire

I'll bet timing is way out for this to happen.

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

the starter can only turn the motor one direction, are you saying that when you release the key the motor kicks back and turns the opposite direction the starter was turning it?

my thought is that, at one time there were some counter rotating motors, they were used as matched pairs, for a twin engine application. new motors this is done in the gears of the lower unit. does it shift gears in the right direction, when you shift?

wilde1j

Vice Admiral

TD, the only motors I know of that ran backwards by design were the old white Mercs that got reverse by stopping and restarting backwards. Don't know of any OMC or even antique Evinrude-Elto's that ever did that.