1950's Evinrude 15HP "Lighting Power"

wiseguy55

Cadet
Hello I'm new to iboats and need a little help. I purchase a used boat with a 1950s Evinrude 15HP Lighting Power outboard on it. They guy who I bought the boat from said that he has not used it in about 2 years and was sitting in his garage. My problem is whe I start the engine it runs for about 1 minute before turning off on its own. It has the old style pressure fuel tank with dual fuel line for air and fuel. My question is, what might me be the problem? Do you think I need a new tank? Any trouble shooting suggestions that might point me in the right direction? I dont have the owners manual for the outboard, but I'm almost certain that the reason why it wont stay on is because of lack of fuel being pumped into the engine. I also have manually primmed the bulb on the fuel line while running and I get it to run for a long time, so I'm thinking there is a problem with the tank. Any help would greatly be appreciated. Or would anyone like to come and take a closer look personally.:rolleyes:

CATransplant

Admiral
Re: 1950's Evinrude 15HP "Lighting Power"

If you have a two-line pressure tank, there's no need for a bulb in the fuel line. That leads me to think that you have a modern tank. Your engine simply will not run with that tank, since there is no fuel pump.

The pressure tanks have a button on the tank itself that pre-pressurizes the tank. Once the engine starts it automatically keeps the pressure in the tank through the second line.

Your engine can, I believe, be converted to a single line tank, but you have to install a fuel pump. Or, you can find a working pressure tank, or rebuild one.

samo_ott

Vice Admiral

What CAT said is correct. Is it a button on the tank or a bulb on the fuel line? Also, what model # is the engine? It will be located on the transom mount. Did you do a compression test also to get a baseline, it's always good to know.