115 HP Evinrude FICHT Inline Fuse Locations

Status
Not open for further replies.

MN_PatS

Recruit
I've installed a new Optima battery in my boat and it's been tested to verify it is at full charge. The connections are good but I get no activity what so ever when I use the power trim buttons either on the motor, on the throttle or in the front of the boat. When I turn the key, there is no sound whatsoever which makes it seem like there is a short somewhere. I called my local Evinrude Dealer and they think that I just popped a fuse. The problem is I'm not sure where the fuses are located. I'm assuming that they are in-line fuses somewhere under the cowling but can someone help me figure out where to look? It is a 1999 model year FICHT I believe.

Problem Solved

Last edited:

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner
Re: 115 HP Evinrude FICHT Inline Fuse Locations

Im no expert but im working on the same problems myself right now and Ill share what ive found. theres a 20 amp fuse right beside the starter in a rubber grommet. theres also a 2 amp fuse in the relay box near the battery, it will have a plastic cover that screws down closed. I too just bought a boat and found both these fuses to be cracked. If you find any more please let me know since i too am trying to start my boat. Hope i helped, and gl

MN_PatS

Recruit

Maybe the nature of the fuse I'm looking for is different from my expectation that it would look like an in-line auto fuse. When I look near the starter motor, I see the wiring harness and connectors but I'm not seeing any fuses that I can replace. If I'm looking at the motor from inside the boat, the starter is to the right side of the engine.

HighTrim

Supreme Mariner