Evinrude 48spl, heavy white smoke, milky substance, grey sludge, no power

Status
Not open for further replies.

hwesterman

Cadet
Help.
I bought a project boat on ebay w/Evinrude 48HP special outboard, 2 cylinder,
2 cycle premix. This boat sat for probably a year in a parking lot.

I am new to boat motors, but have good experience on car engines.
Replaced the ignition switch to get it to start.
Using earmuffs, I got it going in the driveway. Grey greasy sludge began oozing out of ports in the lower section . Very rought idle, but higher speeds seemed OK.
Put it in the water about 6 weeks ago.

Idle was so bad, it took mid throttle to keep it running.
Lots of gas smell, big slick in the water. LOTS!! of smoke, much more than typical 2-cycle. WHITE billowing that did not die down as it warmed up. At full speed, not really noticeable(?)
Plugs looked sooty and wet at every inspection. I put new plugs in.
No change. I pulled a carburetor overhaul and found one float needle/seat was badly varnished and stuck. Paid close attention to all gas passages, especially slow speed circuit. 1.5 turns out on idle needle screw.
It now idles pretty well but flutters badly at any other speeds.
Pulled a compression check. 130 +/- on both cylinders.
Still wet looking plugs. I took the carbs apart again and double checked main jets. I pulled off the intake shroud and am finding a white milky looking puddle in the throat of both carbs???
I don't understand the white color. Am I getting water in the engine? There is a hose from the main case into the carburetor intake shroud.

More troubleshooting revealed that a miss-placed tie-wrap was preventing the ignition advancement linkage from moving properly at full throttle. Fixing it didn't seem to help??
Otherwise, i'm beginning to suspect the ignition at this point and have ordered a "factory" repair manual in order to trouble shoot deeper.
Any other ideas?
Thanks in advance,
Hankster

i386

Captain