Is it a big job to change the impellor? '82 Johnson Seahorse 35hp longshaft

Gosling

Cadet
I think I am having an impellor problem.<br />It doesn't seem to want to pump at slow idle,and it seems to be warm, when I'm puttin' along, but as soon as it is a moderate to strong acceleration it pumps fine...the water is warm to the touch at the tell tale.I have never taken the engine apart before,but have tinkered with everything else and am mechanically inclined....Is it a big job to change the impellor?....and ...would this infact be the problem?<br />If it's not too tough, my next question would be a point in the right direction as to where to start?<br />any help would be appreciated....I am new to this

Walker

Captain
Re: Is it a big job to change the impellor? '82 Johnson Seahorse 35hp longshaft

Originally posted by Gosling:<br /> If it's not too tough, my next question would be a point in the right direction as to where to start?<br />any help would be appreciated....I am new to this
The place to start would be to get a shop manual for your particular motor.<br /> To answer your first question, it certainly could be your waterpump. I assume you don't know how old the present pump is. In that case, time to change it. You made need a complete waterpump kit due to wear of the cup.

Gosling

Cadet

thanks...I am in the process of trying to track down a manual for it....nothing yet.<br />No...I have no idea how old the old impeller is,just got done looking one up....not too much $ at all...I'll order one....I'ts the labour I'm concerned with.I think I could do it myself, If I knew where to start.(not to repeat myself)

Gosling

Cadet

Can you take it apart and clean it?Is that something you can do? ...just in he mean time til i can get a new one?

Walker

Captain