Convert Manual Tilt/Trim to Electric? 1977 Johnson 115hp

spiker_man

Cadet
Hi. I'm a newbie here along with my newly purchased old boat . . . a 1976 Glastron T186 with a Johnson 115hp V4. It currently has manual tilt/trim. What does it take to convert it to electric tilt/trim? I've been looking on eBay and see numerous tilt/trim units for Johnson outboards for sale and in the majority it says that they should work on mid-to-late '70's to 90's 85hp-115hp Johnson Outboards. How do I tell for sure that it will work? Is this something a DIY can install or am I better off finding a boat mechanic/dealer to do this for me? Or am I asking for a can of trouble and should just stick to the manual tilt/trim? Thanks to all who respond.

tr918

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Convert Manual Tilt/Trim to Electric? 1977 Johnson 115hp

I have been looking into doing the same for my 1970 evinrude 115hp. I have not found anything yet. From what I understand you have to cross reference p/n's with the engine you have and see if they fit. Here is a good site for p/n reference: Evinrude web site Look under engine diagrams for your particular engine. Sorry I can not help more. Someone should come along who can answer your question better. Please share what you find out. Good luck.<br />-TR

Cricket Too

Lieutenant Commander

Check out the after market CNC tilt unit. I think you can find the link using the search feature on this site.

TimMattson

Seaman