1960 Johnson RDS-22 40HP

Status
Not open for further replies.
New member here. Just bought the above. The wiring is a total mess and after rebuilding/rewiring snowmobile motors, I'm not scared. There just seems to be sooo many different electrical things on this guy - and I'm a Licensed Electrician.<br /><br />Anyhow, any help/ideas would be great. Will do my best to 'repay' any help given. Of course I am going to buy the manual.<br /><br />[attachment]<br /><br />Johnny<br />

nimmor

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 1960 Johnson RDS-22 40HP

Your ideal for getting the manual should answer all your questions. It has a wiring diagram in the back. I have the Seloc which I am told does not go into as detail as an O.E.M. but it has pretty good wiring diagrams in the back. You might check E-Bay. Every once in a while you can find a good used one there for a bargin.

Thanks RANimmo. Canadian Tire Corp. has every motor manual you could imagine in stock. I will pick one up tomorrow. They only cost $20 Cdn., or about similar U.S. dollars lately.<br /><br />They actually had the manual for my 1974 Yamaha GPX 433 snowmachine. I do believe 'Hanes' is the name on the book. It goes way beyond normal. <br /><br />Johnny

Paul Moir

Admiral

Johnny, RANimmo is giving you great advice. I'm pretty familiar with the manuals out there that cover your engine and while the Seloc (Chilton) is pretty good, the factory one is far better. Unfortunately, I don't see any on Ebay right now, so you would have to order a reprint from kencook.com, marineengine.com, theoutboardwizard.com, or maxrules.com. It's worth the extra money.<br />If you want to get an idea of what the aftermarket manuals are like, you can probably find one at your local library. If you do go for an aftermarket one, the Seloc one is the second best still in print, IMO.<br />It's a good idea to pick up a service manual. There's all sorts of torque and tuneup specs that are critical on these engines.<br />Hope this helps!