Johnson 90 Power Trim Intermittent Issues

TSK 90

Recruit
Hey guys- just stumbled across the forum today looking for some help with my problem. I'm a total boat noob and am having trouble finding information on this vast internet.

I moved to the Charleston area a few months ago and bought my first boat - a 17' See Hunt with a Johnson VLS90. It ran great until about a month ago the power trim would start going out every once in a while. I would leave it alone and try again in a few minutes and it would be working again. Then this week it went out all together. It seemed like a wiring issue because the boat would start and run fine - and I would hear buzzing sounds coming from the relays. I replaced the relays and it still did not work. I started checking connections and fiddling with the wiring harness and magically it began to work again. However, it will still go out if the wiring harness is not held just right. Also, when it is not working and I hit the trim switch I will occasionally see sparks coming from where the wiring is grounded on the engine.

All that said: I can not find anywhere where there is a short or a frayed wire. Is my best bet to buy a whole new harness and not spend any more hours on it? Has anyone else had a similar problem. I'm also a young guy and probably don't have the money to pay someone to fix it.

Thanks so much guys.

TheBigSur

Cadet