Power Pack failures

Cptkid570

Ensign
1996 Evinrude 112 hp spl. Does a power pack typically gradually fail or fail suddenly leaving no spark at all? How about the stator? My motor has no spark and I'm trying to diagnose the issue. I'm new to outboards (always had I/Os).

If I'm understanding this right, the electrical route is from the ignition/key, the stator, then Power Pack, then coils, to the spark plug wires, and then the spark plugs. I think there are a couple of other components in there too. But, that is the general route.

Is that correct?

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Sorry, 12 volts from the battery is not used to make spark at the plugs.------I have to ask, do you understand the basic function of the " powerpack "----the "stator " and the " timerbase "---On this motor?

Cptkid570

Ensign
I'm trying to. I was hoping to find an answer to my question. And yes. I do understand that I can't simply hook the battery up to a spark plug. There is a process. I'm trying to understand that process so that I can better diagnose my issue. Please explain to me the function of the stator, the timerbase, and the powerpack.. and if they typically fail suddenly and stop working completely, or gradually where performance gets bad before they fail completely.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
All of the components you mentioned can fail instantly, or slowly with odd symptoms.

​Need further info to help.

​Did this just happen?

​Motor new to you?

​What's the history?

​Assume safety Lanyard is in place, check to see that it works as it should?

Blown fuses?

​Battery and starter in good shape, spinning the motor fast?

​You have pulled out all the plugs and checked spark while it is spinning faster?

Cptkid570

Ensign