1955 Johnson 10hp QD-16 carb leaking gasoline

odaytripper

Cadet
Hello!

I just picked up this motor. (1955 Johnson 10hp QD-16.) It was inexpensive, starts right up, and I appreciate the old things that were made right.

HOWEVER, during a day of, really, trying to find out if it would break and leave me stranded in the middle of a lake somewhere, I noticed that it seems to be leaking gas from the carb. Not just dampness, but actual drip drops. A significant leak.

I am new to this engine, and actually, this sort of thing in general (although I'm a quick study and I wouldn't have picked up this motor if I didn't plan to learn), but I think the leak is coming from the join between the float chamber and the body of the carb. The leak is definitely at least that high. (It's not the bowl -- too low.)

I took a look at things and the gasket at that join just doesn't seem right. It's too shiny new, and it isn't cut tight to the edges of the metal. It also seems too thick, and the screws at that location seem to not be fully seated, as would happen if a too fat gasket was in there.

So, I think that's the wrong gasket, or a homemade gasket, and that's causing problems.

I'm including a link to a bunch of pictures, because that's how I am. You can see the gasket in question is shiny wet. That's the gas.

I guess my question is, since I'm new to this, how's my diagnosis? Is that gasket wrong? Or is it supposed to be like that? If not the gasket, where is this leak coming from?

Anyone with any thoughts or advice, please chime in. I'll appreciate any and all help.

Thanks!

PICTURES
1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

And, just for giggles, here it is running.

jbuote

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Hey there!!

​I'm pretty new to boating and outboards myself. So for what it's worth... lol..