Johnson 1988 50 HP ex-VRO Fuel Pump Question

Dale Meyer

Cadet
I bought this motor new in 1988. I had VRO bypassed by a reputable boat sales/repair place in about 2002. I had major engine overhaul 2004 after a relative failed to use 50:1 mixed fuel. So since the rebuild the engine has run well until a month ago. Then it would want to quit at or near wot after about 30 seconds. It would run indefinitely at lower throttle. Then it stopped running at all. I replaced the aftermarket filter/water separator. I removed the in-line fuel fuel filter. Fuel is getting from the tank to the carbs with no restriction. So I bought a new Sierra 18-7352 pump. Now I am new to this, so when I went to install the new pump I found the pump was mounted to the intake plenum with no connection whatsoever to the proper location on the crankcase. So how in the @*/## has this motor ever run? Has anyone ever seen such a situation? I'll try to post some photos. Having difficulty posting images from this Android tablet. My email is dgmcrm@yahoo.com if anyone wants a photo of this situation.

oldboat1

Fleet Admiral
Welcome to the forum, D.M. The pump mounting was probably fine, particularly since it worked for 14(?) years. I would just mount the new one the same way. The pulse to operate the pump is accessed through the middle hole in the back, between the bolts. Use the gasket (new one if you have it, otherwise reuse the old one). A little gasket sealer doesn't hurt if you have it, otherwise can use it dry. Don't use silicone sealant as that will end up leaking.

Keep the old pump. It may be the pump diaphragm is torn or has a hole in it, and the standard fix would be to replace the diaphragm (fuel pump kit, similar to a carburetor kit).