1977 Johnson 35hp running rough

Alex Ernst

Cadet
My 1977 Johnson 35hp is running very rough at idle. I am new to working on outboards, and have learned much this summer. I rebuilt my carb, changed the plugs, adjusted idle speed and did a link and sync. The engine is still idling rough, and yesterday started running on one cylinder at idle. It seems to start running on both when I get to a higher speed. The compression is good in both cylinders. I can pull the top plug wire at idle and nothing changes, she just keeps running. I did a spark gap test and it will not reach to 7/16 " as I have read it should. I'm not sure what my next step should be, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

fireman57

Captain
If you can pull a plug wire and nothing happens you are not getting spark to that cylinder. Sounds like a bad coil. Physically swap the coils not just the wires and see if the problem follows. If it does just replace your coil.

Alex Ernst

Cadet
I also changed the rectifier because it tested bad. The starter motor is cranking well over 250 rpm, the recommended speed. I guess I have to do some more troubleshooting.

fireman57

Captain
If you have weak spark, and you say it won't jump 7/16' and bright blue, then you will run on one cylinder. If you are sure when you changed the coil that you got the wire in all the way then I would lean toward your cdi getting weak or bad. If you have one of the old style coils where you have to assemble it yourself it is hard to get the wire seated in the coil all the way. Also, make sure you coil grounds are clean and that wire isn't bare or cracked.

oldboat1

Fleet Admiral
Did you swap coils between cylinders, as mentioned, or did you change one out for a new one? Also, were you adjusting the idle stop (throttle), or the carb needle? Finally, on that spark gap test -- using an adjustable tester set at about half an inch?