1998 evinrude ocean pro 175

Peacedale17

Cadet
Hay guys I'm new to this iboats. I just picked up a 175 evinrude ocean pro that has had work done by a marina shop but has been sitting for a year off a boat on a pallet, I'm installing it this weekend 7/1/16 I guess I'm wondering what do I need to check most common to get this ocean ready maybe fluids, check water pump etc..... Thanks for your help and the model number and serial number if anyone knows a little about this motor I would be grateful for you help for this is replacing a 200 89 Merc that blew up on me. I did research and it seems like a solid motor and compression test was right on point.
Model. E175SLEOM
Serial. G 03943276

bob johnson

Rear Admiral
the model says the motor is a 1995....not a 1998......

other than being 3 years older the only difference is the plug ends that connect to the motor and the controls....bob

Peacedale17

Cadet
Yeah I found that out too the year bill of sale says 98 but I found 95 thanks. Will replace water pump carbs were cleaned in may of 2015 on the service records

racerone

Supreme Mariner
If you bought it from a dealer I would go back and ask them about the year issue.-----Any boat shop knows the identification system on these motors.----Perhaps an honest mistake.

Peacedale17

Cadet
So this I have installed this motor on the boat so far so good but when I crank it over it just keeps turning does not fire and seems like it's not firing doesn't cough or give me a clue it wants to turn over!? And when until the motor up fuel comes out of the breather any suggestions???

Peacedale17

Cadet
And the cover that goes on the optical sensor is missing will that stop the motor from firing over.? I thought I read somewhere it might be an issue with the ring/ washer on it

bob johnson

Rear Admiral
well, you have to do a step by step elimination....lets start with....is there spark at the spark plugs?????