79 Johnson 70HP Fuel Pump & dying when shifting

jzwatkins

Cadet
Hi all, I have been working with a 79 Johnson 70HP I got about a month ago. I changed the plugs, and cleaned it up, and changed the fuel line. The bulb looked okay, and looked fairly recent. So I have a few issues. I installed a filter in the fuel line so I could easily see the fuel and flow. When the engine is running, it's not drawing fuel very well. It's barely coming out at a trickle and isn't keeping fuel in the filter chamber. Should the fuel be drawn faster? I know that the diaphragm pumps only draw so much, but I'm still new to outboards.

Secondly, it requires to warm up quite a bit, before I can get the choke down to a good idle without it dying. Usually then when I try forward throttle it dies as soon as I try to ease the throttle forward. I restart it and it does just fine after that. When it happens it almost sounds like my RPM's are too low and it stalls out. Any other suggestions?

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Fuel filter does not need to be full at all times .------------And report the results of a compression test.---------Is there a thermostat installed in this motor ?

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner