Distributor or electric ignition

Thoughtshurt

Cadet
I have a late 60s model evenrude 75hp outboarde and the distributor went bad. My question is can I or should I put an electric ignitoin in it what woild be cheaper and or easier to do. Im new to boat motors and not sure if it would work but i do have a bucket of old distridutors in very states of disaray and i think i could get ine working ine out of the lot. But if it would be easier and more reliable can i go electonic

F_R

Supreme Mariner
I say run what it came with. That could be a magneto, or it could be automotive battery/coil ignition. They both were good, but the battery/coil kind was simpler. BTW, the plug wires come out the bottom of the magneto, or out the side of a distributor cap on top of the automotive type

Thoughtshurt

Cadet
Then it would be the magneto bc they come out of the bottum ok and ty i guess il prolly ahve to do more research on how they work i know how they work but to the point i can peice one back together

jimmbo

Supreme Mariner
Just for your info, 1965 was the last year for the V4 75 hp.

racerone

Supreme Mariner
What " went bad " on this unit ?-----Coil is a little spendy, but other than that it is a wonderful and reliable unit.---Spin a good one by hand and you will see a small electrical storm.

Thoughtshurt

Cadet
All i know is that they said it lost spark and my main thing is im not sure if i can get it timed right. I did find one that i could spin and it put out spark but it is almost compleatly striped and bearings are rust but im goin to try to put the coil in the one that came off the motor ty for ur guys' help hopefully it works

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Intall the good coil.---Clean and set the points to 0.020"-----Spin it by hand and check for spark.---If good intall the magneto.-----Then ask for procedure on timing magneto to the crankshaft.

Thoughtshurt

Cadet