1991 Evinrude 88 spl overheating deflector replacement

Clyde Jones

Seaman Apprentice
Hi there I'm new to this forum and new to being a boat owner. i do have mechanical experience being that i am a mechanic who specializes in toyota and lexus (so let me know if you have a question about cars :joyous:)

so i have this 88 spl that over heats pretty quickly and at idle.. the right bank gets up to 202 and the left bank gets up to like 188.. thats when i decide to shut it down.. water seems to be coming out of all the ports normally and the water coming out of the pee hole is warm. starts up and runs great just seems to be getting hot.. im running it at 50:1 mixture now.

I have already replaced the water pump and installed thermostats but she is still getting warm. so my next guess would be to replace these 'deflector tubes' I've recently been reading about.. my question to you folks is how do i replace these tubes? are they fitted over something or do they just sit in a cavity? and from what i've gathered they are approximately 3/8" in diameter but how long are they?

my other question is when removing the cylinder head covers is there anything special or is it pretty straight forward? there is a rod coming out of the left bank on the top (#2 cylinder i believe) next to the spark plug.. what is that? do i just remove that nut and slide it off or do i have to mark it or something..

any help would be greatly appreciated.
thanks,
Clyde

boobie

Supreme Mariner
The water deflectors you're talking about are under the cylinder heads. What happens is they usually swell up and block off the water flow in the block causing an over heat.

Clyde Jones

Seaman Apprentice
How long are those hoses? and from what i read on joe reeves post i can just get those hoses at an automotive store...?

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner
water diverters.jpg The left hand deflector in the picture is considered "normal". The right one is an example of one misplaced.

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner