1960 40hp Evinrude Mystery

ssdale

Starmada Splash of the Year 2016
I have restored1959 Starcraft tinner and found a prestine looking all original 1960 Lark II. The PO said he had it for 15 years and it was just serviced before he bought it. He never heard it run and had never even tried to start it. I took a chance and bought it because the look is perfect for the boat.

I am not a mechanic bought have good basic skills and have purchased and read Seloc manual for this engine and have read extensively on this forum on how to ressurect an old outboard.

Heres what I've done:
1.Changed impellor-although old one had never been run, still had installation grease just as po had said
2.compression test shows 125 on both cylinders after applying lubricant and turning by hand
3.replaced spark plugs and HAVE good .25 inch spark
4. cleaned the fuel bowl and reassembled
5.inspected the fuel pump and diaphram appears to be in perfect shape

The starter spins great but will not start! I am NOT 100 percent sure that the fuel is getting all the way to the carb so i have sprayed carb cleaner and even a little starting fluid into the carb and still nothing. From what I've read I will have to remove the starter and the water choke to get the carb off. I would just like to at least here her cough before I go through all that.

I know i will have to tear into the carb, but shouldn't it at least sputter with starter fluid? Why wont it at least hit using the fluid?
Needing encouragement,
Dale

Crosbyman

Rear Admiral
dont overdo the carb cleaner test as it will wash away oils coating the innards.
try a shot of fresh fuel in as spark plug hole to see if it sputters (reinstall the plug and fire it up

F_R

Supreme Mariner