1979 Evinrude 85HP v4 crossflow wont start when cold

04xr6t

Cadet
Hi Guys/gals
First i will introduce myself.
Im a 40 year old bloke who is a motor mechanic by trade.
I have found a new hobby which is driving me nuts but loving it at the same time.
I have myself a 1979 Evinrude 85hp v4 crossflow.
I have done a full Power Head rebuild, rebuilt carbs, and rebuilt fuel pump.
Here is my issue
1/ prime the carbs using the fuel take primer bulb
2/ turn the key (pushed in for choke) and the engine WILL NOT START
3/ Spray carbs with fuel and engine fires then cuts out, spray again engine fires up and cuts out (of course due to only spraying fuel in carbs)
4/ spray fuel again into carbs, engine fires and runs/revs fine

My thoughts are
no fuel is being injected into the carbs, for cold start
I cant find anything in google or my manual that tell me if im missing something off my carbs (like a manual primer bulb) not fuel tank primer bulb.

Any help would be appressiated (i have pics if needed)

Darren

GA_Boater

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Welcome aboard, 04.

On #1 - Are you squeezing the bulb 'til it's very firm or hard?

On #4 - After the second spray, it starts and stays running?

04xr6t

Cadet
Hi thanks for the reply
I squeeze the fuel tank primer bulb till its basicly rock hard
I would say after the third spray the engine fires and runs by itsself

racerone

Supreme Mariner
Are you operating the fast idle lever ?------If you are doing that does the timer base rotate to advance timing a little ?

emdsapmgr

Supreme Mariner
That engine is a bear to start cold when the choke does not work. When you push in on the key to choke it, do the choke butterflys close completely? You may have to take the airbox cover off to see the action...

04xr6t

Cadet
Are you operating the fast idle lever ?------If you are doing that does the timer base rotate to advance timing a little ?

Fast idel lever?
All i do is turn the key and wind over
am i ment to be doing something else?

04xr6t