1977 Johnson 70Hp - Dies when placed in gear 70EL77S w/VIDEO

airbus320

Cadet
Greetings,

I recently acquired a new-to-me boat with a 1977 70HP Johnson outboard.

The motor will only start with the warm-up lever at about 50%-75% of its travel (up). Once started it idles, but quickly dies once the warm-up lever is dropped to it's lowest manual position. As you may be aware, the warm-up lever drops to a stop below the lowest manual setting once the motor is shifted into gear. The motor cuts out immediately upon shifting into gear.

I am a licensed aircraft mechanic and have some familiarity with smaller outboard maintenance and repair. However, I have not done any troubleshooting on the issue...yet. The original owner is coming tomorrow to take a look first. He told me that the motor ran great this summer, with no related issues. I also wanted to see if anyone has experienced this issue as well, so I could go to the table with a bit of knowledge.

Hopefully,the attached video will better demonstrate the problem.

Please note:
-The prop spins freely by hand when the control lever is in neutral
-The prop is has resistance in FWD/REV when turned by hand and the flywheel starts to turn. I haven't disconnected the ignition yet, so I didn't move it by hand through a full turn in gear. However, it feels very tight.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

JD

Michawilden

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I'd also do the drop test. Let the engine run in an low rpm at which it wont die on you. Pull out one plug cap with an insulated pliers. If the rpm drops, Your spark on this plug is good. Do this with the other caps, If you pull one cap and it doesn't have any influence on the rmp, chances are that this cilinder does not contibute.