Tohatsu M55B Power Tilt - stuck?

Jim Hawkins

Chief Petty Officer
Had this old motor given to me. Wrestled it up onto the motor stand after it had laid outside for a few years, evicted a rat and thought I'd see what it's status was. Primed both cylinders, wrapped a rope around the flywheel, gave it a pull and lo and behold it fired and wanted to run. I was all set on parting it out and now, well you know.

First thing after running it for a couple minutes I saw I needed a new impeller. I loosened the bolts on the lower section to make sure they weren't frozen then I went to tilt the motor up to drop the bottom of the motor. I loosened the bolt at the bottom of the tilt pump but the thing still didn't move. I've never worked on a tilt before and need to figure out how to get the motor to tilt.

I"M NOT CONCERNED WITH FIXING THE POWER TILT., just want to get the dog gone thing to tilt manually. here's a picture...

Attachments

• Tilt.jpg
    Tilt.jpg
    83 KB · Views: 1
Last edited:

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
Don't work with tilt/trim engines. Wild guess : There should be a purge valve that diables the hydaulic system so to work manually, check. Other option, if draining all the hydraulic fluid from the cylinder, will probably release the tilt system, so to tilt manually.

Happy Boating

Last edited:

Jim Hawkins

Chief Petty Officer
Thanks. I removed the bolt at the bottom of what I assume is the pump motor and what came out was the needle from a needle valve. No fluid came out. Maybe thats all that can be done and I need to take hammer and pry bar to it? I don't know, I thought someone here would.

Jim Hawkins

Chief Petty Officer
Well then Sea Rider, here's to hoping they chime in before I do something stupid.

pvanv

Admiral
See figure 20 on page 33 of your owner's manual at http://www.tohatsu.com/tech_info/own_man_pdfs/Toh55B_70A.pdf