50hp honda outboard idling high and oil

Michaelspurlock

Recruit
Hello I'm new to boating just bought my first one 2 days ago. It has a 2001 Honda 50hp outboard on it. I have a couple questions. First off when it is idling not in gear just in neutral it is idling at about 1000rpms which seems high? Is this normal? When I put it in gear it drop down considerably which I know is to be expected by that just seems like a high idle to me. Also the owners manual suggests that I run honda brand 5w30 oil in it but the guy who had it before said he thinks the marina he had it serviced at was putting 10w30 in it. Should I switch to 5w30? Also is there any good substitute for the honda brand oils that y'all could recommend? Thank a lot.

MattFL

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: 50hp honda outboard idling high and oil

I have the 1999 model year of the same motor that I bought new back in 1999. Check the owners manual for the idle speed, by memory I think it's somewhere around 800rpm.