NISSAN 5 hp 4 stroke lack of power

RCARGAR

Recruit
I have a 2005 nissan nsf5bs that is low on power. It does not pop lean and i have thoroughly cleaned the carb and tested the pump...the float bowl is not running dry and if i remove the air cleaner baffle it is obvious that fuel pulls through the main circuit no problem...but if i choke it it will rev higher.The plug is not lean in appearence...or rich for that matter. I'm an automobile tech so carbs are not a mystery to me and this one is quite clean and idles fine. oil is not over filled. I tried a test that I use on cars which is to current ramp the coil...but i don't know if i should see the same result...a nice triangle with a staight falling edge on my scope. what i see is a hump that has no sharp edge. It acts like a week coil to me...choke it and the extra fuel gives the electrons something to flow on. Are coils a common problem?? Is there a better test I can perform...i'm not familiar with mag charged coils.
Thanks a bunch
Garland

pvanv

Admiral
Re: NISSAN 5 hp 4 stroke lack of power

Coil issues are rare on these. We usually verify correct resistances with a good ohm meter, and if within specs, consider the coil to be OK. Of course a defective coil can test OK cold, and weaken when hot; YMMV. A weak coil usually results in a dark plug. Does the motor achieve proper WOT RPM?

Assuming that you are propped correctly (small motors are VERY sensitive to minor prop pitch changes, especially if pushing a heavy load), and that compression is good, you may have a slightly lean condition. That's typically inadequate fuel delivery, but can also occasionally be a vacuum leak.

I would check for any minor vacuum leaks at the intake manifold (elbow), and I would also recheck the float height (be sure the clip is on the needle). While you're at it, verify that the emulsion tube (nozzle) is spotlessly clean.