2000 Honda 50 Rough Idel

seahunt52

Cadet
I got a Honda 50 , year 2000, with about 23 hrs on it. Practically a brand new motor.

Seems to run kind of rough in idle and seems hard to start when cold. When starting, I prime the bulb until stiff, pull out the choke and crank the starter key. It may take multiple tries before it fires up. Once it fires I push the choke back in and crank one more time. It generally fires up quickly at this point, but then I am forced to put it in gear for a few minutes before I can put it in idle so it can warm up. Is this normal?

This past weekend my motor failed to start when I turned the key. Battery is good, but the starter would not turn. I put the throttle in gear and back to neutral and it finally turned over. Has anyone experienced something similar to this? Maybe an issue with the Honda throttle? This boat has Honda controls.

I am new to motor boats so any insight will be helpful.

Skinnywater

Commander
Re: 2000 Honda 50 Rough Idel

I got a Honda 50 , year 2000, with about 23 hrs on it. Practically a brand new motor.

Seems to run kind of rough in idle and seems hard to start when cold. When starting, I prime the bulb until stiff, pull out the choke and crank the starter key. It may take multiple tries before it fires up. Once it fires I push the choke back in and crank one more time. It generally fires up quickly at this point, but then I am forced to put it in gear for a few minutes before I can put it in idle so it can warm up. Is this normal?

This past weekend my motor failed to start when I turned the key. Battery is good, but the starter would not turn. I put the throttle in gear and back to neutral and it finally turned over. Has anyone experienced something similar to this? Maybe an issue with the Honda throttle? This boat has Honda controls.

I am new to motor boats so any insight will be helpful.