Honda BF8A or BF100 lower unit removal

bprender

Cadet
I am desperately trying to remove the lower unit on my 8 hp Honda, year 2000. I guess the BF8A and BF100 are the same model. I removed the 5 bolts under the anticavitation plate, and pulled the unit down an inch. It won't come off, since it is still connected to the shifter rod. How do I disconnect it from the shifter. A fast reply would be greatly appreciated. <br /><br />Also, I tried pulling on it, before I figured out the shifter was connected. The axel going into the prop came out an inch. I pushed it back in. Is there a way to find out if I damaged anything? It looks fine, but I'm new to this whole thing. <br /><br />Also, this is my first time with any kind of motor, and I am trying to replace the impeller without a shop manual. I plan on buying one, but I want to use the engine in the next few days. Does anyone know where I can find intructions to install the new impeller, or do any of you have any tips? Thanks so much.<br /><br />Best - Bryan bprender@uiuc.edu

hondon

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Honda BF8A or BF100 lower unit removal

OK.Remove the engine cover ,work the shifter a few times and look at what makes it work.Then gather together a 12 mm and 10 mm wobbley socket,a set of needle nose pliers and visegrips and a good deal of patiance.Shift the unit to reverse,then remove the neutral saftey switch and remove the bolt that retains the sheild that makes it operate.Then remove the bolt that retains the shift clevis and slide the shift lever out and away .Next ,get that socket down there and remove that springing thing with the roller on it.Now take the needle nose visegrip and lock it onto the pin at the top of the shift shaft and with the pliers remove the cotter pin.Now ,while counting the number of turns,unscrew the top of the shift shaft and WALLA.

bprender

Cadet