Nissan 50 HP 2 Stroke NS50D2 will not rev over 2500 rpm under load.

Status
Not open for further replies.

sonic344

Recruit
I’m out of ideas on this one and need some help. I searched for everything related to this topic and cannot seem to figure out what the issue is.
The outboard just does not want to rev over 2500 rpm under load. It will rev until about 2200 and then when I push the throttle down it seems like it wants to take off, but just hits a wall at around 2500 rpm.

If I disconnect the shifter linkage and manually rev the engine it will rev all the way to redline, but not under load.
I bought this motor from someone who said it has always been like this, so I have no background on it.

Here is what I tested so far:

Compression
  • Right under 100 PSI on all 3 cylinders. #2 takes a few extra cranks to get to that mark, but they are all in same range. This seems a little low to me, but according to the manual the engine is supposed to have 103 on each cylinder.
Ignition
  • Correct plugs, gapped properly.
  • Spark plugs are black and oily.
  • Sparklight tester shows spark on all 3 even at 2500 rpm under load.
  • Tested plugs grounded against motor and there is a spark jumping the gap. Possibly weak? Although I have nothing to compare it to.
  • Ignition coil resistance within specifications.
  • Exciter/Pulsar coil resistance within specifications.
  • Unplugged Black/Yellow wire for temp. sensor & oil sensor bypass on the CDI unit and there is no difference. There is no temp sensor on this motor, seems this was optional?
  • Could the CDI be faulty?
Fuel
  • Fuel filter had some debris in the bottom of the canister, but I cleaned it and filter element looked clean. It was a bit deformed, but it still let fuel pass through the mesh.
  • Diaphragm in fuel pump was swollen and out of shape so I replaced it with a new one.