Honda BF- 15A quits peeing;smokes/steams white out the exhaust....

jake pogg

Cadet
Gentlemen,i'd really appreciate any thoughts on this.I've zero experience with 4-strokes,and this is my work boat+motor,crucial at this very season...(the problem was not apparent in pre-season tank testing;as it's governed in neutral,and makes too big a mess in gear,so didn't wind it up too high...).
Again,at med.to high RPM range the power flat-lines,white smoke/stem increasingly mixed with exhaust,motor sounds...rough...
It's in fresh water now,bought used,originally an aux.kicker in saltwater,reconditioned to whatever extent at a Honda dealer....(i live remotely,400 river-miles from the nearest road,so parts/supplies or even advice is hard to come by...).
Thanks in advance,Jake

ondarvr

Supreme Mariner
Could be a few of things, Blown head gasket, plugged up water jacket passage ways from salt water, thermostat bad due to salt water or bad water pump.

The motor can overheat and blow the head gasket from any of these issues.

You have a bunch of tools?

jake pogg

Cadet
Ondarvr,thanks much,Sir.
Your first suggestion-head gasket-confirms my worst fears/suspicions....
(i'm an idjit to not have a pump-kit on hand,but it'd be too much to hope for,after all,the heat build-up couldn't happen so instantly as to rob the power).
I'm reasonably set with the simpler,mechanical tools,and can borrow some more complex from friends,pullers et c.,i think my main handicap is Fear!:)
Fear of tearing into a pretty complex little engine,OHV looks like,et c.,et c...All in my VERY dusty,primitive working environment,on the bank of a very silty river...
Thanks again,i'll try to do what needs doing with a spare(an 80-ies vintage Merc 2-cycle),and will try to study up on rebuilding of BF as seasons allow....