Honda BF 2.3 outboard motor compatibility with a Walker Bay 8'4" plastic dingy .

Darren 63

Recruit
Hello friends, I am planning to buy a Honda BF 2.3 for my rigid , polypropylene 8'4" Walker Bay tender and I could use some help choosing the length of shaft (short vs long ) . Everywhere I look on the internet says that I should go with a short shaft outboard, however, my Walker Bay transom measures 21 inches from
the top of the transom to the bottom of the keel.
I am a newbie who has done some homework, and I have learned that transom length of outboard motors can vary buy 2 or 2.5 inches. I have looked at the
advertised transom length of Zuzuki ( 2 NFL choice so far ) , Yamaha , Mercury and Honda, and most measure around 19.5 inches . The Honda seems to be the
shortest at 16.5.
So it seems to me that the long short Honda is the best fit for my transom, without cutting some transom off of my boat.
I would be very happy to receive any information on this as is possible. Which length Honda BF 2.3 should I use with my Walker Bay rigid tender?

Something else that might help : I cant find a Walker Bay site that will help me - does anyone know of such a sight. The main reason I want to get this
right is that no company ( as far as I know ) will exchange motors if one has been " in the water ".

I thank you in advance for any and all help : Inreally want to get off to a good start by having the correct length of shaft on my outboard.

Best regards,
Darren 63

Sea Rider

Supreme Mariner
Welcome to Iboats Darren,

Glad to read that you have taken the time to measure many OB lenghts which aren't same lenght as you have seen. Boaters thinks that any OB brand being S-L-XL will have same exact length. That same issue applies to boats as well.

What does Walker Bay have to say about which OB lengh is needed to power that dinghy.