87 Force 125 Carb Squirting Fuel/Missing Plug

pxsp

Cadet
Hey Guys,
I have been playing with an 87 Force 125HP on my 81 Ranger for a couple of years now. It wouldn't have been my choice of power but it is what the guy who restored the boat put on it. After some new plugs/wires, a starter, fixing the tilt trim and doing the basic tuning according to the manual I have it runnign well enough to enjoy.
It now fires up on the first or second turnover even if it has been sitting for a couple of months! So I have tuned it as well as I can and even had a stainless 19 pitch mercury prop machined to fit (works great and is half the price of a force stainless prop). From my estimates though I should be able to hit at least 50-55mph in my less than 17' ranger. I seem to be missing some RPM or power at WOT though but can't confirm the rpm at WOT because of an aftermarket RPM gauge and still have not installed the pole converter so it will read right.

Anyways, the engine runs strong and really well all the way up to WOT but the last maybe 10% of WOT does not seem to create any more RPM but my fuel consumption goes CRAZY. I am getting ready for my first fishing trip in 3 months so I pulled the boat out to run it and made a discovery that might be the answer as to why i can't get past 42MPH on GPS. The engine fired on the first spin and ran smooth at idle (I love this). I let it idle for a little while until the t-stats open a little..then i run it up to about 25% in gear until i start to see the water steaming a little, this also usually long enough to get the oil residue in the carbs cleared out after it has been sitting for a wihle. I have never noticed a difference with the cowl on or off so I had it off and just happened to be watching the carbs. I run it up towards WOT briefly and fuel starts squirting out of the starboard side of both top and bottom carbs!... I cut it back and shutdown.