1989 force 125 air/fuel mix adjustment.

icebergz12

Cadet
Got my first boat. 1989 Larson runabout with a force 125. Runs pretty good. I've linked and sinked the carbs. I read somewhere the air/fuel mix setting is 1-1 1/8 turn open from closed position. I have found mine to be running best at 3/4 turn open from closed. I am doing this by ear not vacuum since I am a musician and have an excellent ear. My fear is running lean. What would be the explanation for this difference/ or is this normal?

NYBo

Admiral
Welcome to iboats!:welcome:

You are right in being concerned about running too lean- it can cause major damage (ask me how I know this). The fact is that carbureted two-stroke motors will often running a little rough and smokey at idle when the mixture is correct. Back the scwews out to 1 turn at least, then reset the idle speed.

icebergz12

Cadet
Thank you for the reply. The idle adjustment is all the way out. Tower is as advanced as it can be by the idle screw. Runs really rough if at all at 1 full turn from closed.

icebergz12

Cadet
I guess this does make sense. The idle was adjusted all the way out to compensate for the lack of fuel I guess. Will try one turn and back the idle off as you suggested. Thanks.

Last edited:

icebergz12

Cadet
Plugs are new and cleaned in between runs. I was using the ear for air fuel mixture not rpms. Problem isn't rpms , problem is running rough at 1 turn or more. It runs better below 1. I haven't confirmed proper timing.
in hind sight rpms led me to realize there was a problem..

Last edited:

NYBo

Admiral
Thank you for the reply. The idle adjustment is all the way out. Tower is as advanced as it can be by the idle screw. Runs really rough if at all at 1 full turn from closed.