1975 45hp Chrysler Outboard Motor Help Needed

OldBoat2022

Cadet
Just changed the lower unit oil in my 1975 45hp outboard Chrysler. I made a stupid mistake and removed the Gear Shift Arm Pin instead of the drain screw. Looking at the parts diagram, I believe that is the right terminology for the part... When I noticed what I had done, I put it right back in and tightened it back down. I had to kinda wiggle it back into place to get it to go in.
So with that being said my concern is, did or could I have messed something up. Everything seems to be working right when I check it by hand. I am new to this and thought it might be worth while to ask someone that knows these motors before I take it out, potentially costing myself more money.
Another question, most outboards I have seen will hand turn the opposite direction of the gear its in. On this Chrysler I notice in gear I cannot turn it either way without turning over the motor. Is that normal? In neutral it will turn both directions.
Thanks in advance for any replies.

Nordin

Commander
Re: 1975 45hp Chrysler Outboard Motor Help Needed

If you can feel that the flywheel has to turn when you turn the prop. in forward and reverse and it feel free when turning the prop. in neutral then you got the gear pivopin back in place.

Yes, your notice about turning over the engine in forward/reverse but not in neutral is normal.

OldBoat2022

Cadet

If you can feel that the flywheel has to turn when you turn the prop. in forward and reverse and it feel free when turning the prop. in neutral then you got the gear pivopin back in place.

Yes, your notice about turning over the engine in forward/reverse but not in neutral is normal.

Alright good to know! Thank you sir for your information. Sounds like I must have gotten it back in place.

wickware

Lieutenant

I added silicone over the pivot pin screw?s head to remove my thought of removing it.

OldBoat2022

Cadet