1975 75hp Chrysler Outboard died

Hello All,

I am a complete rookie when it comes to fixing outboard engines. I am, however, mechanically able to do so. Last summer I took my boat (1988 Rinker Shoreliner) out fishing with friends. The engine (1975 75hp Chrysler) started and ran fine for about an hour. We decided to fish another spot on the Detroit River and while heading there, full speed, the engine quit, and the boat came to a sudden stop. The engine turned over, but nothing for about 5 minutes. When it finally started the engine ran like crap (shook). I was running the throttle about 3/4 open, but the boat only did about 5mph. The engine would die off and on (running at 3/4 open only doing about 5mph). Also, at times, when running at 3/4 throttle the engine would accelerate to "normal capacity" at 3/4 speed (about 20mph). The engine finally quit after reaching the boat dock. It has not started since. To me it seemed as though it was running on 2 cylinders rather than the 3? I have been told it may be an issue with the fuel lines? I would like to get some better incite before tackling the fix. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Adw

Cadet
Re: 1975 75hp Chrysler Outboard died