Coil for 1967 Chrysler 75 hp model: 75773

NeilDaCosta

Cadet
I recently picked up a 1967 Chrysler 75 hp 3 cylinder engine 75773 and am trying to get it running(I am new to working on outboards but learning quick). The engine is surprisingly clean, but I think it is because it hasn't been run much ever let alone recently.

When turning the key, the starter turns the flywheel but there is no spark in any plug. All 3 are brand new. I popped off the flywheel and the stator and magnets are clean and rust free. Not sure how to test my coil(without a coil tester) but pretty sure it is bad. It had a crack that looks like it was filled on the front and a crack on the back. You can see the images on my website:

coil : http://neildacosta.com

Down the line, the distributor is clean and rust free too.

Does any one know of a replacement coil for this engine? Can a 12v auto coil work?

I did read that for older 70's chryslers with points, an auto coil can explode. I don't have points, but don't want to risk exploding either!

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

MickLovin

Master Chief Petty Officer
Re: Coil for 1967 Chrysler 75 hp model: 75773

Looking at that coil, I would say it is gone, but you can check it with an ohm meter. With the cables disconnected off the coil check both sides to the ground of the motor, you should get a very high resistance in the Meg-Ohm range, between the two connections points you should get a low reading on your ohm meter like 1 ohm or even less but it could also have a dead short in the coil which will be reflected as zero on your ohm meter normally but depending on your meter and if it has been zeroed out properly, if you get a high reading on your coil it is cactus. I wouldn't use an auto coil as the voltages may be higher than what is required in this case but others may have a different opinion.

Nordin

Commander