1988 Force 125 will not run. Strong blue spark, new plugs, fresh fuel etc.

AnthonyJD

Recruit
Hello everyone,
I'm new to boats and I have had this boat out on the water a few times running great after installing 4 new coils (but it never liked to start good until the motor was hot). I went to fog the motor last fall and I couldn't get it started. I took the fuel line off before it enters the carb and fuel pulses out as the engine is turned over. I also cleaned both carburetors. I still couldn't get it to start. :mad-new: I covered the boat up and left it over winter.
This summer I got the urge to go fishing so I started working on the motor again. :) When I would check the spark it started out strong but quickly faded as the motor turned over. The stator failed a few tests and I replaced it with a new one. That didn't help. Then I replaced the CD modules with functioning used units. Now I have nice strong blue spark on all four cylinders. Still won't run. :confused: It fires a couple times every now and then. It also backfires sometimes when trying to start it. I measured the compression and here is what I found:

cylinder #1: 105 psi
cylinder #2: 125 psi
cylinder #3: 121 psi
cylinder #4: 119 psi
I realize this is out of spec (should be 145-160) but I would think it would still run.

When a friend manually advances the timing while I try to start the motor it actually runs for a couple seconds before quitting. :confused: I'm getting discouraged as I'm out of my element with boat motors, I just wanna fish! lol

Thanks,
Anthony

procraftguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1988 Force 125 will not run. Strong blue spark, new plugs, fresh fuel etc.

Sounds like timming or the magnets under flywheel check top dead center on #1 and check out link and sink at top of page sounds like ur problem

further

Lieutenant Junior Grade