New Starter 85 HP Force. Is it working correctly?

rkinner

Recruit
Just replaced the starter on my 1989 85 HO Force with an $80 one from Taiwan that I got via Amazon. Was a bit of a chore since the new starter had nuts on the mounting screws that had to be removed in order to get it to fit correctly. When I removed the nuts the thing tried to come apart. I managed to keep it together and install the thing. The motor starts right up but the star wheel disengages from the flywheel rather quickly on those few times when it doesn't start right away. Is this normal or should I send it back? The old starter (original) would run quite a while before disengaging. I'm new to electric start outboards so don't have any experience to go by. (My last outboard was a pull start 35 HP Evinrude of 1960's vintage.)

Also what lube (if any) should I use on the star wheel teeth?

Barnacle_Bill

Admiral
Re: New Starter 85 HP Force. Is it working correctly?

That star wheel is called a bendix. No lube needed. Make sure your battery is fully charged.

Jiggz

Captain

Yes, the bendix gear is designed to disengage if the motor "coughs" or tries to start without fully starting. What you want to make sure is you follow correct starting procedures, i. e.
1. Place control lever in fast idle
2. Choke and start and hold until engine starts or "coughs" but no more than 10 seconds
3. If no start but it coughs, try again but this time without choking. Normally it would start within 2~4 tries.

rkinner

Recruit

Thanks for the replies. The battery is brand new and was fully charged. I don't think I can get 10 seconds before the bendix disengages which is what worries me. The motor has always been a fast starter. Sometimes on the first try but always by the second. Right now it has no gas so can't start but the starter still disengages very quickly. Just wondered if that was normal or if the starter is defective.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Some starters are WEAK and kick out prematurely.