1989 force 125hp, is something missing?

dharmon

Cadet
I have this 1989 Force 125hp motor I'm trying to mount on my '89 Bayliner. I have a few questions. In this last pic, is something suppose to go in this opening/hole in the engine block. Also, I think I'm missing carb covers. if so where can I get some and how much? Thanks guys...hope i posted the links right. It's my first time trying to do this.

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1989 force 125hp, is something missing?

First off, it is either a 75,85, or 90 engine. 125 was a 4 cylinder, two carb engine. Second, it is earlier than 1989 because the block is white. The lower portion, cover, and shrouding may be 89 and the tag may say 125 but the block is a replacement. Someone blew the original beyond repair and replaced it with a three cylinder block.

In fact, since the engine block has a distributor ignition, it is 1979 or earlier.

If you can, contact the owner and see if you can get a couple of bucks back. That engine is not worth as much as a Force 125. Nothing really wrong with it--many of my engines are distributor ignition-- but it is smaller and just not as modern therefore not worth as much

Lastly, the open hole will take either a fitting for a pisser, a 1/8 NPT pipe plug, or a temperature gauge sender. You can not operate without something there. Water will blow out all over the place.

There was a single airbox that covered all three carbs. Its purpose was to catch "spit-back" fuel and recycle it to the bottom of the manifold through a fitting below the bottom carb. It is not an absolute necessity to use it but will keep the inside of the engine compartment cleaner. Try looking on ebay for one.

PS: I am surprised if that engine fits under the stock Force cover. The Force cover is tapered more at the front than the old Chrysler and the Force starter motor mount was relieved for clearance under the cover. It appears from the photos that the distributor pulley will interfere too.

Last edited: