1990 force 90 hp, when in neutral throttle won't advance

tfsj62

Recruit
First off this motor is new to me. It was bought to swap a blown 95 force 40hp. Swapping out has been quite a challenge. The only thing left is to get the fast idle in neutral to work. With the cables off and manually working the shift/throttle levers, when the shifter is in start position (lever pressing neutral safety switch) the throttle tower won't budge. If moved slightly toward the forward position the throttle will advance. In this position, the prop spins freely both ways but the neutral safety switch is not depressed and the motor won't start. The adjustable lever for the neutral safety switch is adjusted all the way and can't reach the button to depress the switch.

Now, all that to ask this question. How do I properly adjust the shift lever? The way it is now you can only start it with no fast idle function. I'm new to outboards and this one has me stumped. Any help is appreciated.

I'd like to thank all the smart guys posting here. Without Frank A., Jerry and others contributions this board wouldn't be the wealth of information it is. I just watched Frank's carb sync video yesterday and it was awesome! Good job.

procraftguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1990 force 90 hp, when in neutral throttle won't advance

The shifter has a button on lever push in and then push throttle forward this bypasses the shift part of lever only go push till it has slight resistance

procraftguy

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Ps the button is were the throttle connects to controle base hope this helps also some pull out (just whole shift lever)

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner

First find real neutral on the engine. Now, if the cam does not depress the neutral interlock button, loosen the two screws and move the cam until it does.