1988 85 hp force overheat buzzer not working and engine does at idle. Please help

Sloppy78

Seaman Apprentice
I have a 1988 Bayliner trophy Bass boat with a 85 hp force engine on it. I am having two problems with my boat And any help would be appreciated.

1) I bought a new overheat sensor and buzzer and it is still not working after I installed it. I read that when you turn the key to start the engine the buzzer should sound a few seconds to test its working. I hear nothing. What else can it be? I've checked my connections and seem correct but I'm not too good with electrical. Any ideas?

2) The book has been sitting for about two years unran. I brought it into the mechanic and had the water pump replaced and everything checked out. He put a marine stabilizer into the gas tank to clean out the engine and not Only does it smoke a lot but it will not stay running in idle even after being run for an hour straight. Is there anything else I can do so it won't die out all the time ? Thanks so much.

foodfisher

Captain
Re: 1988 85 hp force overheat buzzer not working and engine does at idle. Please hel

1) No buzz till it overheats. Testing is up to someone else to explain. 2) Heavy smoking in my case was due to a plugged fuel recirculating system, also causes poor idling. Also check/clean plugs and idle RPM's if you can get it to idle.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1988 85 hp force overheat buzzer not working and engine does at idle. Please hel

Your motor shouldn't make ANY noise when you first start.
The buzzer is for overheat only.
Key on,ground out the orange lead to any spot on the block.
It should make the buzzer go off.
If not??? Under the dash should be the buzzer.Small black/round with 2 wires.
Remove it and supply power to the unit.One post ground teh other hot. Should sound off. No noise???
Replace with any 12 V horn, car horns or even motorcycle horns work and make more noise than the original.