90 hp force suddenly died on water and won't start

raiderzfan422

Recruit
I am new to working on 2stroke outboards but tried some basic diagnoses so far. Motor cut off at WOT on the lake and I got towed to dock. Motor would barely crank over when I tried to restart. Took out battery charged over night and next day installed. Motor cranked over normal and even started and ran for 5 secs then died. Tried to restart and cranked very slow again. I thought maybe bad battery or starter so I purchased new battery and took apart starter. Starter was in need of rebuild so I did that also. Same problem it would start within the first few attempts then die 5 secs later and hard cranking again. Compression tested and all 3 were good and also checked for spark and was good there also. Tried spraying fuel mix in as I cranked and no go either. I then pulled all spark plugs out and cranked it and it still cranked slower then it should?? This is where I am at now. Lower unit was rebuilt last fall and ran fine before I winterized it. The motor problem happened about 45 mins my first time out this summer. Can't figure out why if I wait a day it will crank great then after a few tries slow crank. Next day same thing crank fast then slow again. Also noticed the prop was slowly spinning as I was cranking but read that is normal?? Also I removed all battery cables and grounds and wire brushed them clean

foodfisher

Captain
Re: 90 hp force suddenly died on water and won't start

My approach--Battery: even new could be weak=load test. Slow spinning prop=normal. Initial cut off at WOT=possible electrical, check around flywheel for rubbed bare wire, wiggle all connections to try and feel for a break inside the insulation. Possible fuel= check the fuel pump diaphram.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Year? Model? Serial#?
What are the comp#s?
Maybe it's overheating? Test the temp sender and the buzzer?