88 force 86hp. Say forever spent a fortune and no power under load

Ok this is my first post and I'm also new to being on the water. I am an ase master auto tech so I'm not completely lost but am confused at this point. I have a 1988 fore 85hp on the back of my 1988 VIP 18' center console. Supposedly I was buying a "no headaches go boating" everything is fine boat. Ran on the muffs sounded a bit broken up but had been sitting 3 years so I took it home. Threw it in the water and it went down hill from there. Idol has never been an issue but it will not run under load other then once it got up on plane for about a minute then took a vacation. I read Asante posts as I could in the last 2 months and followed them to the letter but have had no real luck. So lets start with what I have done. Every fuel line on the vessel has been replaced, all 3 carbs were carefully taken apart cleaned and reassembled with the proper float adjustment and the idol mixture base lined -1 out. I rebuilt the fuel pump with a new diaphram and check valves. 3 new plug. Compression heck showed 150/145/150 no issue there. Replaced all 3 coils/secondary wires and that cleared up the bit of a miss. Original wires were just deteriorated and arcing out. Removed the flywheel on a whim because I read of a sheer jetway and sure as s*** mine was shered. Replaced re assembled re timed the whole nine yards. Me and a buddy threw it in the water and it got up went like hell and died all together. Ended up rowing it in. Any and all help would be great thank you

Last edited:

foodfisher

Captain
Re: 88 force 86hp. Say forever spent a fortune and no power under load

Died, like someone turned off the key=electrical. Died, like cough and sputter=fuel.