1975 chrysler 20hp

dubfab

Seaman Apprentice
Hello to all..
I am thinking about getting a 1975 20 hp chrysler outboard model 205hf, it has electric start. I was wondering if there was an eaiser way to find replacement parts for i am going to acquire this motor in a few days. I am new to the outboards motors and might need some help!

dubfab

Seaman Apprentice
Re: 1975 chrysler 20hp

All i know from what this guy is telling me is that the motor ran 2 years ago. I know how to rebuild carbs and smaller tasks like that, but i might have a issues with some parts and need help. i will post pictures when i get the motor its not pretty but if it ran 2 years ago then i will have it running one way or another.

wickware

Lieutenant

Will he test run it (in a barrel or in the water) for you which is the best deal IMO? Otherwise there is a chance the engine is not performing (cooling) and needs more work.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

If it's an electric start. And the deals good?? I'd buy just for the resale on parts.
These motors are really simple. Just make sure the compression is good.
Within 5# of each other.

dubfab

Seaman Apprentice

Its a good deal I'm making g out on the deal. But I know I want to put new water pump and clean carb as soon as I get my hands on it. I'm searching for parts but no luck I am new don't know where to start looking. The electric start does turn over motor-good so I'm getting it. I want a good source of parts if I run into trouble.

dubfab

Seaman Apprentice

What's the difference between force and Chrysler??

wickware

Lieutenant

Did you check for good compression and fire at least if you did not start and run the motor?

Will a manual come with the motor? Clymer Manual or Techs will show some Chrysler and Force parts are the same. I would think some parts are not as plentiful as others on Unique Motors. My bottom of the line 1970 35 hp Chrysler has been good to me with only minor tuning/maintenance needed since 1984.

Good Luck!