88 50hp force not sure if water pump is workin

newpontoonie

Cadet
I just replace the water pump on my 1988 force 50 hp and I put the water muffs on it turn on the hose and I can't tell if water is actually pumping or not. This is a new motor to me and I have limited experience with outboards. Does the water actually spit out the exhaust or the lower unit. Is it possible I installed the impeller backwards meaning the splines or finger are bent in the wrong position?

foodfisher

Captain
Re: 88 50hp force not sure if water pump is workin

The hose won't push water past the impeller. The engine has to "pump" the water through the engine. To be sure that is happening, install a telltale.

jerryjerry05

Supreme Mariner

Tach and stuff 001.jpgTach and stuff 002.jpg

The muffs are the one the 50 needs.
The impeller can't be put in wrong. It will orient itself as soon as you crank it.
If you don't have the right muffs you need to put it in a deep bucket.
90% of the water should come out the snout under the cavitation plate.
The biggest mistake is not aligning the copper tube and the water pump inlet.
Fill out the profile,location. You might be close to some one who can help.

newpontoonie

Cadet

The hose won't push water past the impeller. The engine has to "pump" the water through the engine. To be sure that is happening, install a telltale.

I have installed a telltale this afternoon and exhaust seems to come out of it no water though. I took the lower end off again blew air through the brass tube and I can feel a really strong force of air coming out of the tell tale so I know it is not clogged,impeller seems like it is operating as I could see a small black ring on the new plate installed yesterday. Any other suggestions?

newpontoonie

Cadet

I did forget to mention that I did put the motor in a large bucket of water to be sure that it was not the muffs

foodfisher

Captain