Over charging on 1984 Force 85 hp.

maverick974

Petty Officer 2nd Class
I've read the sticky about overcharging problems. New rectifier or voltage regulator? That's my question.
I want to save money but I also want thing right in this boat as I am fishing some pretty big lakes and the last thing I look forward to is getting stuck in the back of some large lake late in the day.
At idle, my guage says about 14 volts. At WOT it is pegged at 18 volts. So far, no boiling or water around the battery but it is a concern of mine.
According to one post, I can buy a new recitifier for just a couple of dollars but a few people said that this may or may not work as rectifiers don't actually "regulate" the voltage to the battery. Or I can pony up and get a voltage regulator.
I'm no electrical engineer hence the question.

What would you folks suggest?????

Last edited:

Frank Acampora

Supreme Mariner
Re: Over charging on 1984 Force 85 hp.

These are unregulated systems and a new rectifier will not stop the high charging voltage. For that you need a regulator. Lacking that, you can keep the running lights on to help reduce the amount of overcharging.

Now, My go-fast has the same system. I run it for 2 hours and have no battery problems. I suspect that as long as you are not running all day at full throttle and periadically check battery water, you will be OK.

Aside from that, if you do have a battery failure, these engines have a self energising ignition, separate from the charging system. They can be rope started rather easily when warm. You should try it a couple of times to get familiar with the process. Then there is no reason why a battery failure, broken solenoid, or bad starter motor will leave you stuck on the water. Search my past posts for the procedure with pics.

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

Doubt that you would be running the main motor long enough to cause any damage.

Do you run the motor for hours on end?

If not, don't worry about it.

maverick974